mengandung, or mengundang?

Today in class, I (Matt) was practicing by having a conversation with a fellow student, Paul, in which I was inviting him to eat dinner at a restaurant with me that night.  What I actually said was something like “I am pregnant…”  A simple switch of two vowels: a and u!  Mengundang means “to invite” but mengandung means “be pregnant with.” We all had a good laugh, and I don’t know if I will ever be able to invite someone to dinner without  smiling!

Leave a comment

Filed under language/culture

Leave a Reply

