Coming up for air…

Hello Everyone!

Sorry for the silence for a while. Our household has been in the grip of a nasty cold bug that has had 3 of the 4 of us down and out for two and a half weeks now. Matt got it first and then it hit Elizabeth and me last week, just as we were preparing to host our church small group. While we hacked and sniffed and sneezed our way through hosting and feeding 40 people for a Wednesday night church service, we completely collapsed after it was over. The girls and I haven’t left the house since last Monday…

Yes, you can say cabin fever.

But until we are all completely healthy, here we stay.

Today, I think that all of us started feeling better. My biggest sign was that we did SO MUCH STUFF, like we were making up for lost time or something!

After we got all ready this morning, Elizabeth decided she wanted to do a craft, so I opened up one of my favorite idea websites and she picked a story box! I absolutely love this idea, but Elizabeth at the moment is much more familiar with her own invented princess stories than with traditional fairy tales like Jack and the Beanstalk. So… I just went with it and let her make it what she wanted. By the way, if anyone can recommend a good children’s fairy tale book, we’re looking! We ended up using markers instead of paint (she insisted) and then just went outside to find some rocks and flowers to add to the landscape. I think it turned out great! Here is Elizabeth with her creation.

IMG_5959

A closer look:
IMG_5961

Charlotte really liked the part where we went outside and looked for rocks, and since today seemed to be not so scorching hot, we went back outside for a bit. Have I mentioned that a few weeks ago four tiny little kittens decided to adopt us? They are cute, but sometimes make a racket!
IMG_5967

The girls love (LOVE) to play with them, and Charlotte just got brave enough to start picking them up. I feel sorry for those kittens sometimes! Both girls are still learning to be gentle.
IMG_5997

IMG_6010

Playing with kittens turned into sweeping the porch, and I wouldn’t bother telling you this if I hadn’t gotten some goofy pictures of the girls. The many faces of Elizabeth!
IMG_6019 IMG_6026 IMG_6027

And of course my cute (and growing so big!) little Charlotte.
IMG_6032

Then we had lunch and after that I was in the mood for scones. So I made these. They are delicious. I should know. I’m eating one right now. Yum.

Anyway, after naps I decided that the girls needed a little treat of hot chocolate, so we had a hot chocolate tea party! Someone brought us hot chocolate mix with colored marshmallows from America, and they are a real treat! I’m trying to save them as a treat that they get every once in a while so we can spread it out. Here’s my little tea party princesses!

image

Earlier in the morning, while Charlotte was taking a quick nap, Elizabeth and I gathered up a few toys and stuck them in plastic containers, filled the containers with water, and stuck them in the freezer. So… in the afternoon they were frozen and ready to come out. We took them outside and they started to melt almost immediately! I guess that’s what happens when you live on the equator. And today was a cooler day!

image

image

They had a lot of fun breaking out the toys, watching the ice melt, and saying “COLD!” We do lots of stuff to stay cool around here. And here is a cute new pic I snapped of Charlotte after she got bored with the ice and toys. My little cutie!

image

Sorry to bore you with the ins and outs of our day today! But we did SO MUCH today, especially after being sick for so long. We are getting really really ready to go somewhere! Maybe we can venture out of the house tomorrow. I think we’re ready. So glad to finally be feeling a little better. Coming up for air…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Coming up for air…

  1. Jenine

    Wow, you are a creative mommy! Loving all the pictures too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

